Architectural Review Commission

Report of Activities for 2023 Calendar Year

The Architectural Review Commission is comprised of 10 members in 2023. (7 regular members and 3 alternates) In 2024, three regular members were licensed architects:

Jeffrey Smith, Thomas Kirchhoff, and Richard Sammons

One regular member was a certified Master Gardner: John David Corey

In February of 2023, Alicia Grace's term expired. Town council appointed Elizabeth Connaughton full voting member from alternate member and added KT Catlin as alternate member. At the March 29, 2023 meeting Jeffrey Smith was reappointed as Chair and Richard Sammons as Vice Chairman.

Attendance by Commissioners

There was a total of 17 absences by Commission members (8 Excused and 9 Unexcused). The 12 monthly meetings consisted of 75 hours for members of ARCOM.

Staff Level Applications

Staff level applications submitted to the Town increased by 16% from the 2022 year.

Received By Department	Approved	Denied*	
711	592	110	

*Applications denied by staff can pursue full ARCOM review at the discretion of the applicant.

With the adoption of the Town's Project Designation Manual Matrix several of staff level applications were reviewed by the Chairman of ARCOM. 2023 was the first full calendar year with the implementation of the design matrix. Town staff as well as applicants have benefitted greatly from the addition of the Commission Chair Review which has streamlined ARCOM agendas.

Project Review

New Projects – advertised in 2023	121
Number of agenda items*	286
Approvals	118
Deferrals	82
Time extensions	7
Variances recommended to town council	32
Projects withdrawn	11
Denials	8

*Please note that this number includes projects deferred more than once.

The Commissioners remain enthusiastic and engaged in their volunteer service to the Town and look forward to the continued work of ensuring the high quality of development and redevelopment within the Town.